Doc Gooden Misses ’86 Championship Parade Because of, You Guessed it…Cocaine

1

May 10, 2013 11:30 AM by Billy Heywood

51268665fos-spa021828348

ESPN New York – Dwight Gooden’s autobiography, entitled “Doc, a Memoir,” is currently available for pre-order ahead of its June 4 release date. An excerpt available at Amazon.com details Gooden discussing why he missed the 1986 World Championship parade: 

“As my teammates rode through the Canyon of Heroes, I was alone in my bed in Roslyn, Long Island, with the curtains closed and the TV on, missing what should have been the greatest morning of my life,” Gooden wrote. “I’d spent all night in a sketchy housing project apartment near the Roosevelt Field mall, getting wasted with a bunch of people I hardly even knew. I was drinking shots of vodka. I was snorting lines of cocaine. And more lines of cocaine — and more lines of cocaine. I didn’t leave the drug party until after the sun came up. 

“As my teammates toasted our triumph, I was nursing a head-splitting coke-and-booze hangover, too spent, too paranoid, and too mad at myself to drag my sorry butt to my own victory parade. I had never felt so lonely before.” 

These days, Gooden has become one of Matt Harvey’s biggest cheerleaders. Dr. K tweets the K count after each Harvey strikeout.

Welp, no shocker here. Cocaine in the Mets locker room in ’86 was just as rampant as roids in the A’s clubhouse in the 80’s to the 00’s. Doc would eat coke for breakfast, lunch, and for dinner he would run train on a bottle of Smirnoff and a busty ebony lady.

But no one gave a fuck back then, because they were the Amazin’s. Imagine if Shawn Marcum, Niese and Gee were doing a quarter of the blow Doc was haulin through his nostrils? God damn, The Mets starters would go 8+ innings a night, and wouldn’t have to rely on Harvey to get a W every fifth day….Just goes to show you that Cocaine, is indeed…

tumblr_mhojjoCnRL1r5j928o1_500

One thought on “Doc Gooden Misses ’86 Championship Parade Because of, You Guessed it…Cocaine

  1. In order to get the credit computation, the first step is usually to fill up the application form and submit
    to the payday lender bluehost 4.95 having entry to fast payday advances
    empowers you to face the challenge head-on along with the right choices could
    be made fast.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older Posts

