Maker’s Mark Lowering Their Alcohol Content Because It Can’t Keep Up With Demand

Leave a comment

February 11, 2013 1:00 PM by Billy Heywood

whiskey

Business Insider- Apparently, there isn’t enough Maker’s Mark bourbon to go around. 

The company’s distillery is lowering the amount of alcohol in the liquor to meet high demand, reports the New York Post. 

Company executives sent an email to clients explaining the change, Pedro Oliveira Jr. reported. 

Maker’s Mark is currently distilled to 45 percent alcohol by volume, or 90 proof. After the change, the alcoholic content will go down to 42 percent alcohol by volume, or 84 proof. 

“Fact is, demand for our bourbon is exceeding our ability to make it, which means we’re running very low on supply,” executives said in the email reported by the Post. It’s not clear when the change will happen. 

A New York bartender told The Post that the change was unacceptable. 

“Usually you’re going to notice that,” bartender Erik Lane told the Post. “If I started putting a half shot of water in the bottom of everyone’s beer just to make the keg last longer they’d notice.”

It’s been a tough week for whiskey drinkers. 

I honestly don’t see what the problem here is. Now I’m not a huge liquor guy, not because I don’t like it, because I do. I love liquor. But liquor doesn’t love me. I’ve had Maker’s Mark once or twice and that shits legit. From the times I have drank it, I felt too old for my own good. This shit is for 50 year olds, with a mansion, drinking it out of a crystal glass, while listening to Mozart and reading Walt Whitman. I instantly felt smarter, and a whole of a hell lot drunker.

I don’t agree with the cutting back on the alcohol content because thats ruining the feel of it. Maker’s Mark isn’t a liquor, its an experience. But I do understand the move. Purely financial. They could have easily just watered it down a tidbit to skimp at the top, most people wouldn’t notice, some would, not many.

Hell, fuck it. We all know 90% of the bars out there don’t even give you what is on the label. So this really doesn’t make that much of a difference.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older Posts

