Raffi Torres Comes Back Tonight Against the Blackhawks

Leave a comment

February 7, 2013 11:15 AM by Smash

Phoenix Coyotes v Chicago Blackhawks - Game ThreeESPN Chicago – Chicago Blackhawks forward Marian Hossa views Thursday’s game with the Phoenix Coyotes like any other despite it being the first time he’ll face Raffi Torres since the Coyotes’ forward ended his season last year with an illegal hit to the head.

“I don’t care,” Hossa said Tuesday of the game. “It’s a thing you don’t forget. Like I said, you know I move the page, and it’s another season. I just try to focus on my game.

“‘It’s just another game. … I think it’s going to be a normal game. I don’t expect anything.”

Torres launched himself shoulder-first at Hossa’s head, sending him crashing to the ice in Game 3 of their first-round playoff series April 17. Hossa left the ice on a stretcher and did not return for the series, which the Coyotes won in six games.

Well, Marian Hossa is a better man than I am. If the guy that knocked me out of the playoffs was coming back when I was playing, I would do everything in my power to rock him. I don’t care if I was 5 foot nothing and he was Chara sized. Something would be down. But obviously, Hossa isn’t an enforcer (or a piece of shit), he’s not going to go out there and light up Raffi Torres or even drop the gloves with him. Just not gonna happen.

However, what may happen (and by may I mean a very good chance) is someone like Brandon Bollig will take off Torres’ head just like in Little Giants:

Spike = Brandon Bollig Jake Berman = Raffi Torres

I’m guessing we’ll see a fight or some sort and attempts at big hits aimed at Torres. Unfortunately, I don’t think it’s going to be as good as we’d like. Would I like to see a Torres fight/huge hit on him? Fuck yes. Will we? Ehh questionable. These types of situations always seems to be a let down.

Sidenote – Clearly the people making the schedule knew what they were doing. Well played NHL schedulers…well played.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older Posts

