When’s the Cutoff to Stop Wishing People a Happy New Year?

Leave a comment

January 3, 2013 3:00 PM by Smash

2013-new-year

The age old question of when it is/is not acceptable to continue to wish people a Happy New Year (really any holiday for that matter). New Years always seems to be the one people love to milk. Basically, once every other holiday is over, you don’t hear “happy whatever” until next year. Not New Years. This shit goes on and on and on…

It’s January 3rd. Right now, I’d say still acceptable to say it? I refuse to say it after January 1st and even then, you’re lucky if you get one out of me. I’m more concerned about when people wish you one and you’re still ready to fire something back.

The only reason this is bothering the shit out of me is because of an incident last year. I’m at the office (I believe it was January 6th) and a coworker walks by and drops a “Happy New Year!” on me. I froze. To say I was not expecting that would be the biggest understatement of 2012. Almost a week after New Year’s Day and you’re wishing me a Happy New Year? That’s crazy talk, right?

I’d say the 31st, 1st, and 2nd are completely acceptable, the 3rd is on the fence and anything after that is too late. I can’t be the only one thinking this. It’s unacceptable.

The only thing worse than a late “Happy New Year”? A “Happy Belated New Year!” Disgusting. Happy belated anything is just awful. Good intentions? No. Just say it on time or don’t say it at all. You missed your window.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older Posts

