Victor Cruz – You’re My Guy

Leave a comment

December 17, 2012 9:34 AM by Billy Heywood

Victor Cruz Sandy Hill
Source: Yahoo

I’m a die hard Jets fan, don’t get me wrong. I hate the Patriots and Dolphins, and their respective fans. The Bills are just there to fill in the rest of the AFC East, and I loathe Giants…more their fans than their actual team. Eli is a tardo, Tuck and Osi are soft as pillows, and  I fucking hate Victor Cruz. I hate the salsa dancing, I hate how he goes 0-60 in 3 seconds, and I hate how he single handedly beat the Jets last season. I don’t think he is as great of a receiver if he didn’t have his speed, and that’s like saying Jordan wouldn’t be as great if he didn’t have his jump-shot. Just silly to argue, and I have to admit Victor Cruz is good. If he was a Jet, he’d probably be my favorite behind the lustful Nick Mangold. But after reading this, hell, I think he  might be the first Giant that I actually root for from now on.

“We see the effect we have on kids, and it’s humbling,” Cruz said. “It’s a real honor to be a role model.”

Victor Cruz was Jack Pinto’s (one of the victims from the Sandy Hook Massacre) favorite player, and Jack loved him so much that he is being BURIED with a Cruz jersey on. Now if that’s not dedication, I don’t know what is. So Cruz finds out, gets his girlfriend to flag down the family, and pledges that he will give his game worn gloves and cleats to them, as well as be there for them as the months and years go on. He is going out of his way to go visit Jack’s family and made sure the media didn’t know what exact date. Making sure that this was a heart filled gesture,  and not some media grabbing bullshit like the Jets do on a daily,  weekly, monthly, and yearly basis.

“If I’m needed in [a political] way, I’d do whatever I could,” he said. “But I’m focused on the positivity and the well-being of the family.”

Victor Cruz wasn’t a top ten, or first round draft pick. He went undrafted, and the Giants had the steal of the century picking this guy up. He sees his time in the spotlight and accepts the responsibility, like a man, to be a role model. Victor Cruz isn’t making  this a political battle, nor is he trying to gain sponsors or anything like that. He is being a human being, and at sometimes, we as fans forget that. Victor Cruz could have just looked at his Twitter and gloat  about how much someone loves him. But he didn’t, he went above and beyond of what he had to do, and every single player in the NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL (not this season…womp womp) and MLS should take note. I hated your salsa-dancing ass before, but now, you’re my guy.

Pray for Newtown.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older Posts

