2012 Heisman Trophy Announcement

Leave a comment

December 7, 2012 5:01 PM by Wade Blogs


This Saturday will be the Heisman Trophy presentation at the Best Buy Theater in Times Square (New York, NY). The finalists this year are Collin Klein (Quarterback, Kansas State), Johnny Manziel (Quarterback, Texas A&M), and Manti Te’o (Linebacker, Notre Dame).

The following is from the official Heisman press release:

Klein would be the first Kansas State Wildcat to win the Heisman Trophy. Klein passed for 2,490 yards and 15 touchdowns and rushed for 890 yards and 22 touchdowns. The senior holds the Football Bowl Subdivision record of the most rushing touchdowns in two seasons, totaling at 49 between 2011 and 2012. Klein ranks second in Kansas State history for scoring with 336 points and third in career yards with 7,028.Manziel would be the first-ever freshman Heisman Trophy winner. Hailing from Texas A&M, the young quarterback passed for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns. He also rushed for 1,181 yards and 19 touchdowns. Manziel is the first quarterback in SEC history, and only the fifth player ever in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, to have 3,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in the same season. Upon surpassing 4,600 yards, he set a new SEC record for total yards in a season. Manziel holds a Texas A&M record of logging eight straight games with 300 or more total yards.

Te’o would be the first true defensive player to ever win the award, joining seven previous Notre Dame players as a Heisman Trophy winner. This season, Te’o helped lead the Fighting Irish to an undefeated season with 101 tackles, of which 46 were solo tackles to bring down his opponent; he ranks third in Notre Dame history for career tackles at 427. Te’o amassed a school-record seven interceptions in his third-straight 100+ tackle season.Collin Klein had an impressive game against Texas in Week 14 but  too little too late. He will play Oregon in the Tostito’s Fiesta Bowl which would help his case if the Heisman was selected AFTER bowl season.

Johnny Manziel brought the Aggies to 10 wins in their inaugural SEC season. They did have two loses to at the time #24 Florida and #6 LSU by less than  6 points.  Biggest case against him:  He is a freshman and NO freshman has ever won the Heisman.  If he did not beat Alabama would he even be in consideration for this award?Manti Te’o is the most decorated player in NCAA Football history. The heart and soul of the Irish who is tied for second in the nation for  interceptions with 7! Oh and he will lead the Irish against the Crimson Tide in Miami on January 7, 2013 for that Crystal Football.

Questions to factor into the decision:

1. Should they give it to a defensive player?  If they don’t give it to Manti, after one of the most impressive seasons a defensive player has ever seen, then they should rename it the best OFFENSIVE player award moving forward.

2. Will the Bias against freshman outweigh the bias against defense? Again if Johnny Football doesn’t win because of that then you have to reevaluate the requirements.

3. Should a teams performance effect a finalist’s chances? If Kansas State didn’t lose to Baylor and still played against Notre Dame in the National Championship, would he have a better chance? Does team standing play a part in Heisman Trophy?

Who Should Win it?  Manti Te’o

Who will Win it?  Toss up. Tune in at 8pm Saturday, December 8th for the Heisman Trophy presentation on ESPN.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older Posts

%d bloggers like this: